Favourite Book Dedications|| *Book* Tag

Hi friends!

Today’s post is on 💥book dedications💥

What Is A Book Dedication?

A book dedication is a way for authors to bestow a high honor on a person (or small group of people) they want to praise or otherwise spotlight.

Tucker Max, Scribe Media.

I have seen this “tag”, I guess, circulating on bookstagram for some time now and I’ve always thought it will be a pretty cool blog post. I honestly never paid attention to dedications, epigraphs, and prologues before seeing this trend around, so these are from books I’ve read fairly recently. Let’s jump right into this.

Ace of Spades by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé

“For all the Black kids drowning in the sunken place, desperately trying to claw their way out, this book is for you
And for my mum, who believed in me first and gave me my love of fables”

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

“For my father, who tried his very best not to be his worst. And for my mother who made sure we never saw him at his worst.”

Vinyl Moon by Mahogany L. Browne

“This story is dedicated to the act of showing up for yourself. Every book I write is a love letter to the teachers who never gave up on me…”

The Risk by S.T. Abby

“This is for the ones who lost their voice. This is for the ones who wish they could be Lana Myers. This is for the ones people still whisper about. This is for the ones who fight every single day to forget.
You’re not alone.”

The Fine Print by Lauren Asher

“To the girls who dream of meeting a prince but end up falling for the misunderstood villain.”

I love all these so much, and they all reflect the stories somehow. Have you read any of these? What are your favourite book dedications? Let me know in the comments.

xo,

Elle

2 thoughts on “Favourite Book Dedications|| *Book* Tag”

Leave a comment