Watching all 42 Barbie Movies, pt 1

Hi friends!

April has been a terrible reading month so far, and not because I am in a reading slump. I started graduate school this year, not sure if I mentioned that here already and I was preparing for and writing my examinations for the past two weeks; I had no time to read at all.

In today’s post, I will review the Barbie movies I watched/ rewatched between my examinations. I grew up watching Barbie, and it has always been a goal of mine to watch all the movies in this franchise. I am starting this year by rewatching all the ones I’ve already watched (about 26 of them) and watching the ones I haven’t for the first time.

Barbie Fairytopia/ Barbie Fairytopia: Mermaidia/ Barbie Fairytopia: Magic of the Rainbow.

These three follow the same characters in the same world, and I actually really liked the movies. It was better than I remembered it to be, honestly. I liked the characters. I enjoyed the plot, especially that of the second one, and I appreciated how each conflict was resolved. These movies gave cozy fantasy vibes. Overall, this was a 4 stars trilogy for me. I was entertained throughout, but I wish the characters’ backstories were more developed.

゜-*☆*- ゜

゜-*☆*- ゜

Barbie and the Magic of Pegasus.

This was once a top-tier movie for me because I used to be obsessed with watching figure skating movies and the Olympics. Rewatching this made me realize how underdeveloped the characters in most of these movies were. The humor definitely made up for that in this movie. I did not love the plot as much as I thought I would; it could also be because I’ve rewatched this more times than I could count. Some things did not add up for me, like how did Wenlock get his magic in the first place? I still rated this 4 stars. I will rewatch it many more times because of the characters and the nostalgia.

゜-*☆*- ゜

Barbie and the Secret Door.

I really liked this one. This was a new watch for me, and I had so much fun watching it. I loved the plot and I loved the songs. It was a bit cheesy at times, but I loved it. Barbie’s character was so relatable, a young girl who just wanted to be left alone and read all the books she could ever want. The villain in this one also made this so interesting. I rated it 5 stars because it is the first Barbie movie I have watched where I could relate to Barbie’s character.

I’ll end here today. I am having so much fun rewatching these movies and watching some for the first time. If you also watched Barbie back in the day, let’s chat about it in the comments below. I’ve never met anyone as obsessed with these movies as I was.

Watch count: 5

till next time,

elle.

Leave a comment