my favourite audiobooks of 2021

Hi friends!

In today’s post, I’ll be sharing some of the best audiobooks I’ve listened to over the course of the year. I really got into audiobooks this year because I have become captive to listening to or watching something whenever I’m doing any mundane activity. Formerly, I used to listen to literary fiction and YA books only because I found it so hard to get into them, but I’ve been getting into listening to more romance audiobooks lately.

Middle Grade and YA audiobooks

I loved Raya and the last dragon. I think this is one of the best middle-grade audiobooks I have ever listened to. The narrator was so good. I could clearly imagine every description she was giving and I’m so bad at imagining things I have never seen before. I am still yet to watch the movie, but this audiobook left a lasting impression on my memory that I feel like I’m not missing out on anything.

If you are a fan of Elizabeth Acevedo, y’all know she never misses with her audiobooks. I love her reading voice so much and Clap when you land was no different. I think the audiobook made me love the story even more than I would have had I read it physically.

I really liked the audiobook for They both die at the end by Adam Silvera. There are quite a number of POVs in this so I think the audiobook really helped with the distinction of characters. I loved this story so much.

Another one of my favourite books of the year was Love from A to Z by S. K. Ali. The audiobook was so good and the story was just so sweet. I loved it so much. I’ll definitely re-listen to this soon.

Adult

Romance

My top audiobook of the year is definitely The seven husbands of Evelyn Hugo by Taylor Jenkins Reid. This is also unfortunately my lowest rated book on this whole list (I am in the minority here so don’t worry), but the audiobook was chef’s kiss. I loved everything about it. The narrator did such a good job of bringing the characters to life.

Call me maybe by Cara Bastone was also very unique. This felt like putting on your favourite movie as background noise while doing something….it felt like listening to a movie really. It was very well produced. The story was very short but very cute.

The first time I read Archer’s Voice, I didn’t really like it, but you guys…I reread this book but through audiobook this time around and I loved it. I don’t know how, but it definitely worked for me. I really enjoyed the story so so much this time around. The audiobook is definitely worth a try.

Fantasy

Fantasy isn’t really my area of expertise and I know the world building will most likely confuse me, so I tend to listen to audiobooks to ease me into the story.

The deep by Rivers Solomon and Black sun by Rebecca Roanhorse are the only adult fantasy books I read this year. I’m glad I listened to the audiobooks for both. The narrator for The deep definitely made me enjoy the story 10x more. Initially, I had been confused, but pretty much everything was clarified and I loved the story in the end. For Black Sun, it was such a ride, lol. But again, I loved the audiobook so much. Even though the story felt a bit “textbook-ish”, the narration was excellent. I enjoyed it.

Have you read or listened to any of the books on this list? Let’s chat in the comments.

xo,

Elle.

Leave a comment